Skip to main content

The Sacraments

The liturgical life of the Catholic Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the Sacraments.

There are seven Sacraments in the Church:

  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Eucharist
  • Penance
  • Anointing of the Sick
  • Matrimony
  • Holy Orders

The purpose of the sacraments is to make people holy, to build up the body of Christ, and finally, to give worship to God; but being signs, they also have a teaching function. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and object, they also nourish, strengthen, and express it; that is why they are called “sacraments of faith.” The sacraments impart grace, but, in addition, the very act of celebrating them disposes the faithful most effectively to receive this grace in a fruitful manner, to worship God rightly, and to practice charity.

Provided below is a schedule of when the Sacraments are celebrated at Immaculate Heat of Mary Church. If you have any questions about receiving the Sacraments please contact the parish office or our pastor.

Mass Schedule

Sunday Mass Schedule

Saturday Vigil Mass: 5:00 PM
Sunday Morning:

May – August:

8:00 AM & 10:00 AM

September – April:

8:00 AM & 11:00 AM

Weekday Masses

Tuesday – Friday: 8:00 AM

Holy Days of Obligation

Please refer to the bulletin for complete Holy Day Mass Schedules.


The Sacrament of Baptism is the first of all the Sacraments and the entrance into the Family of the Church.

To schedule your child’s baptism, please contact the parish office.

If you are an adult and you are interested in becoming Catholic, contact Father Andy through the parish office.


What is the Sacrament of Reconciliation?

“It is called the sacrament of conversion because it makes sacramentally present Jesus’ call to conversion, the first step in returning to the Father from whom one has strayed by sin.
It is called the sacrament of Penance, since it consecrates the Christian sinner’s personal and ecclesial steps of conversion, penance, and satisfaction.” (CCC 1423)

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is made available to our parish family before our Saturday Vigil Mass from 4:00 PM until 4:45 PM.

Feel free to call the parish office if you would like to schedule another time for the sacrament.

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick is a special anointing with the Oil of the Infirmed, which is a special olive oil blessed by the Bishop, to bring about spiritual and physical healing. Often, we only think of this sacrament for those near death. This belief comes from the celebration of this sacrament within the Last Rites. The Anointing was reserved for those near death, when it was coupled with the reception of Viaticum, or food for the journey.

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick is available at any time. Father Andy is willing to visit anyone at home or in hospital to confer this most important sacrament. Do not wait until the last second! Please contact the office to schedule this sacrament.


Catholic parties should contact the parish office at least six months prior to the wedding for sacramental preparation and evaluation.

Holy Orders

At the Last Supper, Jesus ordained the 12 Apostles to continue his saving work throughout the world and throughout the centuries. The successors of the Apostles are the bishops and priests of today. The Sacrament of Holy Orders confers upon designated men the spiritual power to teach, lead and sanctify in the name of Jesus. There are three levels to the Sacrament of Holy Orders: Diaconate, Presbyterate (priesthood) and Episcopacy (bishops). The Sacrament of Holy Orders allows a man to teach and act in the person of the risen Jesus—particularly in the celebration of the sacraments for God’s people.